Mangaluru

Watching me with a stern command to sleep
Depriving my hyper self, though medicated
Of the modern world norms of connectivity
He leaves me with no choice, but
To relapse into my pool of fond memories;
Fishing out the vivid images of wanderlust –

Holding hands into the serenity of sunset
Streaking the shimmering waters with hues
That were multitudes amid frothy whites.

Ferrying across backwaters sultry and eager,
Watching the educated masses turn uncouth
In the chaos of boarding and disembarking.
Riding the roller-coaster of a town bus
Unruly, yet ruling the roads with autonomy!

Filling the tummy to heart’s content, while
The hoopoes and jackdaws chirp over the
Elevated canopy overlooking the foggy terrains
Sit we, sighing at the sheer beauty
Tranquil and not a single decibel to the ear
Yet picturesque in million sights to the eye.

Bliss was, beholding the Nethra goddess
Adorned with hundreds of boats and nets
Swaying away with a shimmer, while all I
Could do was shudder with surprise,
At the sudden sight caught at a turn.

On and on, I could go; I really could
For, this (and more) was Mangaluru to me,
Serenity among the occasional chaos that was.

Getting sick could put you in a reflective, nostalgic mood. Should soon finish the travelogue from few weeks back.

Leave a comment